The Beauty Hidden in a Grassfield

by Piter Kehoma Boll

About a week ago I went with my parents to my aunt’s house in the neighbor city, Estância Velha, and my parents decided to go to my uncle’s house, across the street, to fish at his property. I went along, but since it was too hot to stay still in the sun with a fishing rod, I decided to go for a walk through the grassfield to find interesting things to photograph.

At first, when one looks at a grassfield, it looks like an endless amount of grass and nothing else, but if you look closer you can find an amazing diversity of flowering plants living there.

Here I will present the beautiful flowers I found there after only about one hour exploring the field.

Sida rhombifolia L.

Ludwigia tomentosa (Cambess.) H.Hara

Ludwigia peploides (Kunth) P.H.Raven

Elephantopus mollis Kunth

Tibouchina cf. gracilis (Bonpl.) Cogn.

Tibouchina herbacea (DC.) Cogn.

Leandra regnellii (Triana) Cogn.

Solanum cf. atropurpureum L.

Commelina erecta L.

Tripogandra diuretica (Mart.) Handlos

Begonia cucullata Will.

Desmodium incanum DC.

Asclepias curassavica L.

Sisyrinchium micranthum Cav.

Richardia brasiliensis Gomes

And there are also some that I wasn’t able to identify. If someone knows their names and could help me with the identification, I would be very thankful. And please, let me know If I misidentified any species. Here are the ones awaiting identification:

Unidentified

Asteraceae

Asteraceae (?)

Liliaceae (?)

Fabaceae

Lamiaceae (?)

All photos by Piter Kehoma Boll.

1 Comment

Filed under Botany, Ecology

One response to “The Beauty Hidden in a Grassfield

  1. Gihn

    The 1st asteraceae plant is most probably Vernonia cineria (not sure.. it maybe Ageratum.. the florets are too blurred out to identify anyways) , while the next one which is a bit worn out… is probably Eclipta alba

Leave a Reply

